Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Hello,

I'm new on this forum. I'm an amateur and intermediate web developer. English is not my mother tongue, so I apologize for all the mistakes I'll make in my messages!

I've been reading chapter 12, 'PHP's Command-Line Interface' and have had no problem reproducing the different scripts. But now I'm trying to apply what I've learnt to other PHP scripts, and I've run into a fatal error:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 70517676 bytes) in some_file.php on line 7

Line 7 is the following:

$clean_file = str_replace('some_string', '', $file);

I first tested my script on a small html file, so I know the script in itself works.

The html file I'm now using is quite big (70 Mo)… and there's worse to come (300 Mo)!

Should i modify the configuration file called php-config in /usr/bin in order to avoid this fatal error? If so, how can I change it? I tried to open it in my text editor, but it appears as a Unix executable file.

Or is this one of the cases where I should change the php.ini behavior with the -d option? If so, what change should I make?

With thanks for your help,

Emilie

You need to alter the PHP configuration. The problem is that the script takes too much memory, and therefor gives you a fatal error.

You can get your current limit by:

php -i | grep memory

Change it by:

a.) Alter the php.ini configuration file. Up the declaration "memory limit" (and make sure it's uncommended.)

b.) Or adjust it in a single script adding ini_set('memory_limit', '64M'); to the top your script.

You can also use a flag to do this from the command line, but I don't remember that at the moment. I would recommend just changing php.ini.

• Upvote 1

Thank you very much for your answer.

I feel very stupid, but where can I find the php.ini configuration file for PHP CLI? I know this version of PHP is in /usr/bin, but I see no php.ini file there:

php_cl10.jpg