Larry Ullman's Book Forums

Chapter 13 Administrator - Access Denied

I'm working through chapter 13 now. I just finished the listing quotes and editing quotes sections on pages 396-403. I've added the ...is_administrator function. I'm signed into my computer (windows 7) as the administrator but the error message pops up for both view quotes and edit quotes saying access is denied. If i'm the administrator, why am i not getting access to these pages? I checked the control panel settings to verify that I am signed on as administrator.

If anyone could help, I'd appreciate it.

Larry,

Somehow, I knew this would be an easy fix. Logged in and it works fine. I've tried to work with some other books but didn't get much out of them. This book is great! I've recommended it to my class and will continue working through the entire series. Thanks for the book(s) and the website. They have both been really helpful.

Slim

Larry,

I'm a student at the College of Southern Nevada. Just finished up my AAS in web design and will continue studying CS at UNLV in the fall of 2012. I took a class that emphasized php and javascript and had to do a project. This book is the only reason that I was able to complete my project.

Slim

• 2 years later...

Ok, I can not log in on my own site?  I have access premitted for user (myself) on go daddy data base?  I can sign in under me@example.com password testpass.  Here's my code:

<?php
/* This page lets people log into the site. */

// Set tow variable with default values:
$loggedin = false;
$error = false;

//Check if the form has been submitted:
if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST')
{

// Handle for form:
    if (!empty($_POST['email']) && !empty($_POST['password'])) 
    {

if ( (strtolower($_POST['email']) == 'me@example.com') && ($_POST['password'] == 'testpass') )
        {
            // Correct!

// Create the cookie
                setcookie('Sade', 'Adu', time()+3600);

// Indicate they are logged in: